Classic Car Catalogue


Antibes Grand Prix
11 September 1932
La Garoupe Circuit


Use 'Shift' key to select multiple columns.
→1500 cc Entries and results:
No.   Driver: Car: Model: Engine:   Entrant: Result:
1   Jean Labbay Mathis   0.75   J. Labbay dnf
2   Marcel Lister Maserati 26 1.5 S-8   M. Lister dns
3   Victoria Orsini Maserati 26 1.5 S-8   Signora V. Orsini 4th
4   Roger Boucly Salmson   1.1 S-4   R. Boucly dna
5   Albert Chambost Salmson   1.1 S-4   A. Chambost 2nd
6   François Martinatti Salmson   1.1 S-4   F. Martinatti 3rd
7   Novolina de la Case Ruby   1.1   Mme. de la Case dns
8   Tcholopoff Peugeot   1.1 S-4   Tcholopoff dna
9   José Scaron Amilcar MC0 1.1 S-6   J. Scaron dnf
10   Charles Druck Bugatti T37A 1.5 S-4   C. Druck dna
11   Mme. Lagoutte Rally   1.1 S-4   Mme. Lagoutte dns
12   Frédéric Toselli Bugatti T37A 1.5 S-4   F. Toselli 1st
14   Emile Dourel Amilcar   1.1 S-6   E. Dourel dns
Use 'Shift' key to select multiple columns.
1500→ cc Entries and results:
No. Driver: Car: Model: Engine:   Entrant: Position:
15 René Dreyfus Bugatti T51 2.3   R. Dreyfus dnf
16 Moulin Bugatti T35C 2.0   Moulin dnf
17 Pierre Rey Bugatti T35C 2.0   P. Rey dnf
18 Louis Trintignant Bugatti T35C 2.0   L. Trintignant 4th
19 Celerier Celerier Special 3.6   Celerier dna
20 Calmels Paulot Special 3.6   Calmels dnf
21 Benoît Falchetto Bugatti T51 2.3   B. Falchetto 1st
22 Marcel Mongin Bugatti T35 2.0   M. Mongin dnf
23 Vassiaux Bugatti T35 2.0   Vassiaux dna
24 Max Fourny Bugatti T35B 2.3   M. Fourny 5th
25 Mme Odette Siko Alfa Romeo 6C-1750 1.8   Mme O. Siko dns
26 Jean-Pierre Wimille Alfa Romeo Monza 2.3   J-P. Wimille acc
27 Raymond Sommer Alfa Romeo Monza 2.3   R. Sommer 2nd
28 Goffredo Zehender Alfa Romeo Monza 2.3   G. Zehender dnf
29 Lucy Schell Alfa Romeo 6C-1750 1.8   Mme L. O´Reilly Schell dns
30 Ralph" Bugatti T35C 2.0   "Ralph" dnf
31 Jean Gaupillat Bugatti T51 2.3   J. Gaupillat 3rd
Motor SportOctober 1932

THE Juan-les-Pins Rally, organised by the A.C. Antibes, culminated in a motor race held over the Circuit of Garoupe. At first it was decided to run the two classes, unlimited and up to 1500 c.c. at the same time, but owing to the heavy entry list this idea was abandoned, and the classes were staged as separate races.
The course is a very dangerous one, as it runs through thickly wooded country, and during the last practice a fatal accident befel Marcel Lister. He had only done a few laps on a newly acquired 1500 c.c. Maserati when he got into a terrific skid on a bend just before the straight past the stands. The car hit a bank at the side of the road and turned over, hurling the driver several feet up the road. Unhappily, Lister fell onto his head, and was killed immediately, although several spectators rushed to his assistance without any delay. Lister, although a newcomer to racing, was by no means inexperienced, for he won the 1500 c.c. class at the Grand Prix de Peronne in June this year, and a few weeks later came in second in the Grand Prix de Nancy.
On the day of the race the course was closed by de Presale, driving the world-record holding Voisin, and soon afterwards the 1500 c.c. cars were sent away. At the end of the first lap the leader was Toselli (Bugatti), who was making his first appearance since his serious accident in the Grand Prix of Lorraine earlier in the year. He was followed by Scaron (Amilcar), Martinatti (Salmson), Chambost (Salmson), Mme. Orsini (Maserati), and Labbay (Mathis). Little incident then took place until Scaron (Amilcar) and Labbay (Mathis) retired, and from then on the order was unchanged.
RESULTS. UNDER 1,500 c.c.
1, Toselli (Bugatti), 1h. 16m. 3 3/5s.
2, Chambost (Samlson), 1h. 19m. 24 1/5s.
3, Martinatti (Salmson), 1h. 20m. 35 1/5s.
4, Mme. Orsini (Maserati).
The unlimited class cars set off at a terrific pace, and for some time there was a fierce struggle between Zehender (Alfa Romeo), who led at the end of the first lap, Dreyfus (Bugatti) and Wimille (Alfa Romeo). All three were very close together, and on the third lap both Dreyfus and Wimille succeeded in passing Zehender, who later retired on the fifth lap. By that time Wimille had got the better of Dreyfus, who in turn was followed by Benoit (Bugatti), Gaupillat (Bugatti), Sommer (Alfa Romeo), Fourny (Bugatti), and Trintignan (Bugatti).
But the pace began to tell. Wimille (Alfa Romeo) retired, after a terrifying skid which luckily did not have a serious. ending. Two slower Bugattis driven by Ralph and Rey fell out, and Benoit began a stern chase of the leader, Dreyfus. The latter, however, was not fully recovered from his bad accident at Saint Gaudens in the Grand Prix du Comminges, and had to retire because his arm wounds were giving him pain. Thus it was that all the leaders at the first part of the race gradually fell out, and Benoit came home first, followed by Sommer and Gaupillat. Benoit made the fastest lap.
RESULTS. DISTANCE : 101 km. 750 m.
1, Benoit (Bugatti), 1h. 13m. 25s.
2, Sommer (Alfa-Romeo), 1h. 14m. 52s.
3, Gaupillat (Bugatti), 1h. 16m. 6 1/5s.
4, Trintignan (Bugatti), 1h. 18m. 41s.
5, Fourny (Bugatti), 1h. 19m. 15s.